Monday, October 15th, 2018

Shelly Fuller Health Education Scholarship Fund

Shelley Fuller, former HEAU board member, died on March 10, 1996 due to complications related to cancer. During her board tenure, Shelley was instrumental in changes that influenced the vision and vitality of HEAU. She single-handedly built the health education division at FHP, a managed care organization. This required her to work tirelessly with clinicians to help them understand the value of prevention in general and the health education profession specifically. Shelley had the tenacity to translate her ideas to fruition. She was passionate about health education and ensured that all health educators at FHP were CHES certified. She believed that to be a good health educator, one must actively participate in improving the profession. Shelley had a zest for life and enjoyed the association of a host of friends. We remember her for her leadership, her spirit, her ready smile, her sense of humor, her vibrant laugh, her compassion in reaching out to others, and her courage and integrity to initiate and finish so many meaningful personal and professional endeavors. In her memory, the Shelley Fuller Health Education Scholarship Fund was created by HEAU in 1996.

A scholarship up to the amount of $500.00 may be awarded annually to a graduate or undergraduate student(s) enrolled on a full-time basis and accepted into a health education program of study at Brigham Young University, the University of Utah, Utah State University, Weber State University, or Utah Valley University. Criteria for this scholarship includes:

  1. GPA of 3.0 or above
  2. Leadership capabilities
  3. Community involvement
  4. Active in student organizations
  5. Current HEAU member

Previous Award Recipients

Year Recipient
2013 – 2014 Chalyce Carlsen
2012 – 2013 Jessica Strong
2011 – 2012 Mindy Steadman
2010 – 2011 Jakki Hansen
2009 – 2010 Andrea Jensen
Marie Elegante
2008 – 2009 Lisa Christianson
Rebecca Holgreen
2007 – 2008 Melinda Barber
Donna Myers
2006 – 2007 Shelsie Shaw
2005 – 2006 Alison Myers
2004 – 2005 Kaylynn Shakespear
2003 – 2004 Andrea Turley
2002 – 2003 Lorilla Bushman
2001 – 2002 Kristen Prusse
2000 – 2001 Brook Stevens
Amy Sands
Jodie Noyce
1999 – 2000 Krisite Larson
1998 – 1999 Stephanie Fugal
1997 – 1998 Natalie Taylor
Keri Gibson
Kami Greenhagen
1996 – 1997 Sarah Murray
1995 – 1996 Jill Olsen

© 2018 Health Education Association of Utah | P.O. Box 2337 | Salt Lake City, Utah 84110